The Collected Stories of Richard Yates

The Collected Stories of Richard Yates (Paperback)

On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand as of Apr 20 12:16am (FICT)


The literary event of 2001 is now the paperback event of 2002: The Collected Stories of Richard Yates gathers the late author's powerful and peerless short fiction in one comprehensive volume. Praised by such authors as Michael Chabon, Stewart O'Nan, Robert Stone, and Richard Russo, and universally acclaimed in reviews across the country, The Collected Stories is the crowning jewel in what has been the rediscovery of one of our greatest American writers.

About the Author

Richard Yates was the author of the novels Revolutionary Road, A Special Providence, Disturbing the Peace, The Easter Parade, A Good School, Young Hearts Crying, and Cold Spring Harbor, as well as the short story collections Eleven Kinds of Loneliness and Liars in Love. He died in 1992.

Praise for The Collected Stories of Richard Yates…

"Unflinching and uncompromising, complex atthe same time they seem to unfold naturally andsimply....Miraculous." --Ann Beattie

"A superb collection...a laureate of romantic loneliness." --The New York Times Book Review

"One soars on the updrafts of his brilliance to a special kind of literary high." --The San Diego Union-Tribune

"Soft-spoken in his prose and terrifyingly accurate in his dialogue, Yates renders his characters with such authenticity that you hardly realize what he's done." --The Boston Globe

"Keenly insightful, brutally honest...delivering a swift kick to the heart." --The Denver Post

"Evoking entire worlds in a few words....[An] A." --Entertainment Weekly

Product Details ISBN-10: 0312420811
ISBN-13: 9780312420819
Published: Picador, 05/01/2002
Pages: 496
Language: English