OPEN EVERYDAY

10AM
-
10PM

(323)
660-1175

1818
NORTH
VERMONT
AVE

LOS ANGELES
90027

 

STEVEN

 


Name: Steven Salardino, Manager.

 

Favorite paragraph: "The lean days of determination. That was the word for it, determination: Arturo Bandini in front of his typewriter two full days in succession, determined to succeed; but it didn't work, the longest siege of hard and fast determination in his life, and not one line done, only two words written over and over across the page, up and down, the same words: palm tree, palm tree, palm tree, a battle to the death between the palm tree and me, and the palm tree won: see it out there swaying in the blue air, creaking sweetly in the blue air. The palm tree won after two fighting days, and I crawled out of the window and sat at the foot of the tree. Time passed, a moment or two, and I slept, little brown ants carousing in the hair on my legs." - John Fante, Ask The Dust

website: http://palmtreepalmtreepalmtree.com

Email: steve@skylightbooks.com

Los Angeles Review of Books Naked Bookseller: http://tumblr.lareviewofbooks.org/post/44401183405/the-naked-bookseller-...


 

Books: 
Fup Cover Image
$9.95
ISBN: 9781597141581
Availability: Not in stock. Available To Order.
Published: Heyday Books - October 2011

Hot Little Hands: Fiction Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780812989175
Availability: Not in stock. Available To Order.
Published: Spiegel & Grau - May 31st, 2016

Patience Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781606999059
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Fantagraphics Books - March 21st, 2016

Turtleface and Beyond: Stories Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780374278069
Availability: Special Order
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - February 3rd, 2015

Finally a new book of Arthur Bradford stories! We've been waiting for over 10 years! His first book, Dogwalker, was a wonderful collection of connected pieces in the vein of Denis Johnson and Thom Jones. This new one is just as entertaining and he has gone further into his own voice. The characters are low rent strugglers and then tension comes from the simple strangeness of everyday life. Even though the situations seem familiar I never know where a story will twist and end up. Comes out in 2015!


The Stories of Jane Gardam Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781609451998
Availability: Not in stock. Available To Order.
Published: Europa Editions - June 3rd, 2014

Do Not Sell at Any Price: The Wild, Obsessive Hunt for the World's Rarest 78 rpm Records Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9781451667059
Availability: Not in stock. Available To Order.
Published: Scribner Book Company - July 8th, 2014

I got so excited about this book I wrote a letter:

I would compare her ability to make the reader feel the music pouring from those brittle grooves to the word magic Laura Hildebrand pulled off when she put me in the saddle of Seabiscuit. Thebook was an intriguing history, a fun and funny journey, and an exploration of the idea of collecting and the world collectors live in and I devoured it all.

 

For a non-fiction book to connect with me takes a lot and this is the first one since John Jeremiah Sullivan's Pulphead that has excited truly me. 


Staff Pick Logo
My Struggle, Book One Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780914671008
Availability: Not in stock. Available To Order.
Published: Archipelago Books - February 4th, 2014

I have become one of the Knausgaard tribe. I am savoring this book and all the meditations throughout. A detailed biography (Book 3's translation comes out this year) that I might be so bold as saying "comes from a brilliant voice of my generation (X)". I have not even finished the first book, but like Hamsun's Hunger (to compare another Norweigian), I can feel the "classicness" as I am reading.


Staff Pick Logo
Why Are You So Sad? Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780142180587
Availability: Special Order
Published: Plume Books - January 28th, 2014

A spot on crack-up of a book that is perhaps pulls something from the literary ether that Barthelme, Vonnegut, and Saunders breathed from. The absurdity and chaos of our working world distilled down to one man's effort to figure it all out by quizzing his co-workers and himself. "When was the last time you felt happy?"


Tenth of December: Stories Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780812984255
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Trade - January 7th, 2014

A Visit from the Goon Squad Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780307477477
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Anchor Books - March 22nd, 2011

A rare treat. A book that feels contemporary and classic, a novel told in short stories, a work that made me feel not only for the characters but for the beauty of the sentences, the intricacy of the structure, and even for myself. The stories often revolve around characters involved in music, rock music. Egan knows how music can effect us and place us in a certain place and time, how it conjures memories and feelings from our past - time is oppressive and consistent, truly a goon.


Pulphead Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780374532901
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar Straus Giroux - October 25th, 2011

Already excited about this new book that comes out in November 2011. These essays/articles are moving, funny, and smart. John Jeremiah Sullivan has that rare gift of being able to plug into the universal while exploring the personal. And exploring through articles about: Axl Rose, electrocution, christian rock, southern writers, and other intriguing worlds. Start getting excited now...and do a quick search online and read the pieces you can find there.


Selected Stories Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780679767305
Availability: Not in stock. Available To Order.
Published: Vintage - December 4th, 1995

Heartbreaking tales of contemporary life so masterfully told that I am surprised no one has brought this author to my attention before. I am reminded of some of my favorite short story writers like Raymond Carver, Richard Yates, and John Cheever. Dubus is someone that understands how a moment can shape a lifetime and expresses it with an uncanny insight.


The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar, and Six More Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780141304700
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Puffin Books - May 2000

I've been reading some the Roald Dahl stories that I either skipped when I was younger or just want to read again. One of the all time great stories that has stuck with me since I read it when I was a single digit is the The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar. In this bit of meta-fiction Roald Dahl has been asked to tell the story of playboy turned philanthropist Henry Sugar. Henry then tells us the story of his mentor, a man that has learned the art of seeing through solid objects. Maybe one of my first exposures to mutating the real and the make believe and the power of genre bending.


The Annotated Alice: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass Cover Image
By Lewis Carroll, John Tenniel (Illustrator), Martin Gardner (Notes by)
$35.00
ISBN: 9780393048476
Availability: Special Order
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - November 17th, 1999

Never get sick of this story of falling and getting up and falling some more. This classic is also an annotated classic, as Gardner's notes are the standard for interpreting this most psychedelic and mathematical of tales.


The Letters of Mina Harker Cover Image
By Dodie Bellamy, Dennis Cooper (Foreword by)
$19.95
ISBN: 9780299206741
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: University of Wisconsin Press - September 27th, 2004

My favorite book by my favorite author. A wonderful and strange experiment that takes place in the slash between real/fiction.


The End of Vandalism Cover Image
$14.00
ISBN: 9780802142702
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grove Press - June 2nd, 2006

Animal Planet: Revised Edition with a New Afterword by the Author Cover Image
$12.50
ISBN: 9781532852336
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform - April 20th, 2016