facebook

In the Beautiful Country (Hardcover)

In the Beautiful Country Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of Jul 2 8:03pm
(MIDDLE READERS)

July/August 2022 Kids Indie Next List


“Honest and vulnerable, In the Beautiful Country is a unique insight into ‘the immigrant experience.’ This novel-in-verse told by an 11-year-old girl is a lovely, emotional read! I loved the character growth and Kuo’s evocative writing.”
— Hannah Stewart, The Wandering Jellyfish Bookshop, Niwot, CO

Description


For fans of Jasmine Warga and Thanhhà Lại, this is a stunning novel in verse about a young Taiwanese immigrant to America who is confronted by the stark difference between dreams and reality.

Anna can’t wait to move to the beautiful country—the Chinese name for America. Although she’s only ever known life in Taiwan, she can’t help but brag about the move to her family and friends.

But the beautiful country isn’t anything like Anna pictured. Her family can only afford a cramped apartment, she’s bullied at school, and she struggles to understand a new language. On top of that, the restaurant that her parents poured their savings into is barely staying afloat. The version of America that Anna is experiencing is nothing like she imagined. How will she be able to make the beautiful country her home?

This lyrical and heartfelt story, inspired by the author’s own experiences, is about resilience, courage, and the struggle to make a place for yourself in the world.

About the Author


Jane Kuo is a Chinese and Taiwanese American writer who grew up in Los Angeles in the 1980s. Jane’s debut novel, In the Beautiful Country, is a fictional story inspired by the weekends and summers she spent working in her family’s fast food restaurant. Please visit her online at www.janekuo.com.

Praise For…


"Vivid, heartbreaking, and hopeful in all the right ways.” — Gene Luen Yang, award-winning author of American Born Chinese

“Beautifully written. A moving historical fiction book that is valuable for all readers.” — School Library Journal (starred review)

“Deftly touches on complex issues. A powerfully candid and soulful account of an immigrant experience.” — Kirkus Reviews

“Anna’s candid first-person narrative makes this first novel an absorbing and ultimately moving book.” — Booklist

“Emotional. Full of vivid imagery.” — Horn Book Magazine



Product Details
ISBN: 9780063118980
ISBN-10: 006311898X
Publisher: Quill Tree Books
Publication Date: June 28th, 2022
Pages: 320
Language: English