facebook

I Don't Want to Be a Frog (Hardcover)

I Don't Want to Be a Frog By Dev Petty, Mike Boldt (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Dev Petty, Mike Boldt (Illustrator)
$19.99
Possibly out of print. Email or call to check availability and price.

Description


The hit book about a willful young frog with a serious identity crisis and his heard-it-all-before father. Perfect for fans of Grumpy Monkey and The Bad Seed.

Frog wants to be anything but a slimy, wet frog. A cat, perhaps. Or a rabbit. An owl? But when a hungry wolf arrives—a wolf who HATES eating frogs—our hero decides that being himself isn’t so bad after all. In this very silly story with a sly message, told in hilarious dialogue between a feisty young frog and his heard-it-all-before father, young readers will identify with little Frog’s desire to be something different, while laughing along at his stubborn yet endearing schemes to prove himself right.

And look for the hilarious sequels—I Don't Want to Be Big, There's Nothing to Do!, and I Don't Want to Go to Sleep.

About the Author


DEV PETTY is the author of many books for kids, including I Don’t Want to Be a Frog, Elmore the Christmas Moose, Don't Eat Bees, and Claymates. She lives in Berkeley, California, with her husband, daughters, and many pets.

MIKE BOLDT is a New York Times bestselling children's book creator who lives in Alberta, Canada, with his wife, three children, a dog, and a few cats. His books include I Don’t Want to Be a Frog, Elmore the Christmas Moose, Don't Eat Bees, Find Fergus, Bad Dog, and the New York Times bestseller Just One Bite by Camila Alves McConaughey and Adam Mansbach.

Praise For…


★ "First-time author Petty’s dialogue between a frog father and his son makes its point about accepting one’s nature with a big grin. . . . The story might create similar gratitude in the minds of readers—or it might just make them giggle."—Publishers WeeklySTARRED REVIEW

"A lively look at self-acceptance."—Kirkus Reviews

"This amusing story ends with a laugh and a much more content frog."—School Library Journal

"Silliness and deadpan humor combine into a hopping good story of being happy with who you are."—Booklist

"A paean to self-acceptance wrapped in snappy dialogue and illustrated with richly colored comic paintings."—Wall Street Journal

"Petty and Boldt provide just enough predictability to hook youngest readers, then deliver a delightful twist or two to create surprise and satisfaction—for both the green hero and the many fans he'll make with this book."—Shelf Awareness

"This lighthearted exploration of identity will delight as a readaloud."—The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books


Product Details
ISBN: 9780375973345
ISBN-10: 0375973346
Publisher: Doubleday Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: February 10th, 2015
Pages: 32
Language: English