Over Sea, Under Stone (The Dark Is Rising Sequence #1) (Paperback)

Over Sea, Under Stone (The Dark Is Rising Sequence #1) By Susan Cooper Cover Image
Possibly out of print. Email or call to check availability and price.


The first volume of Susan Cooper's brilliant and absorbing fantasy series, The Dark Is Rising.

On holiday in Cornwall, the three Drew children discover an ancient map in the attic of the house that they are staying in. They know immediately that it is special. It is even more than that -- the key to finding a grail, a source of power to fight the forces of evil known as the Dark. And in searching for it themselves, the Drews put their very lives in peril.

About the Author

Susan Cooper is one of our foremost fantasy authors; her classic five-book fantasy sequence The Dark Is Rising has sold millions of copies worldwide. Her books’ accolades include the Newbery Medal, a Newbery Honor, the Boston Globe–Horn Book Award, and five shortlists for the Carnegie Medal. She combines fantasy with history in Victory (a Washington Post Top Ten Books for Children pick), King of Shadows, Ghost Hawk, and her magical The Boggart and the Monster, second in a trilogy, which won the Scottish Arts Council’s Children’s Book Award. Susan Cooper lives on a saltmarsh island in Massachusetts, and you can visit her online at TheLostLand.com.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780689840357
ISBN-10: 0689840357
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books
Publication Date: November 1st, 2000
Pages: 304
Language: English
Series: The Dark Is Rising Sequence