Haunted Homeland: A Definitive Collection of North American Ghost Stories (Haunted America #4) (Paperback)

Haunted Homeland: A Definitive Collection of North American Ghost Stories (Haunted America #4) By Michael Norman Cover Image
Not in Stock. Available to Order.

Other Books in Series

This is book number 4 in the Haunted America series.


Haunted Homeland is a comprehensive collection of true ghostly tales, not penned by fictioneers such as Poe and King, but passed on by word of mouth and preserved by memory as windows to our nation's haunted past.

From a haunted castle in the wilds of Alaska to phantom clergymen in the southwest and mysterious bouncing lights on the east coast, this latest volume covers the places, the people, and the things that belong to the earthbound realm of the fantastic.

Norman has gathered together spectral events of all kinds: apparitions of the famous like Mary Surratt, Mary Todd Lincoln, and Mad Anthony Wayne, haunted crime scenes in Chicago and along the Indiana byways, as well as banshees, poltergeists, and even a ghost named George who has become an accepted resident in a North Carolina home.

These anecdotes are not the stuff of imaginary nightmares, but of tales of personal encounters with the haunted parts of America.

About the Author

Michael Norman has taught at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls for more than twenty-five years. His books include Haunted America, Historic Haunted America, and Haunted Heritage.

Praise For…

“Vibrant . . . Entertaining . . . Tales of murder, sex, madness and revenge make Haunted America both intriguing and amusing.” —The New York Times Book Review

“Amazing tales.” —Chicago Magazine

“Great reading for a stormy night.” —Booklist

“Mesmerizing, spine-tingling, and not to be missed by any folklore collection.” —Library Journal

Product Details
ISBN: 9780765321596
ISBN-10: 0765321599
Publisher: Tor Books
Publication Date: September 16th, 2008
Pages: 448
Language: English
Series: Haunted America