OPEN
EVERY DAY

10AM
-
10PM

(323)
660-1175

1818
NORTH
VERMONT
AVE

LOS ANGELES
90027

 

Mayfly (Paperback)
Mayfly Cover Image
$10.99
Not Yet Published

Description


A futuristic thriller that pits teens against teens, this provocative young adult debut is for fans of James Dashner and Marie Lu.

Jemma has spent her life scavenging tools and supplies for her tribe in the their small enclave outside what used to be a big city. Now she’s a teen, and old enough to become a Mama. Making babies is how her people survive—in Jemma’s world, life ends at age seventeen.

Survival has eclipsed love ever since the Parents died of a mysterious plague. But Jemma’s connection to a boy named Apple is stronger than her duty as a Mama. Forced to leave, Jemma and Apple are joined in exile by a mysterious boy who claims to know what is causing them to die. The world is crumbling around them, and their time is running out. Life is short. Can they outlive it?

Praise for Mayfly:

"Lives are short and brutal in this postapocalyptic adventure, in which communities of children fend for themselves in the ruins of Los Angeles, generations after a disease wiped out all adults. . .There’s an almost mythological quality to this tale. . .with modern culture filtered through generations of oral history and misinterpretation, and debut novelist Sweat does an admirable job of maintaining the tense atmosphere and underlying desperation." —Publishers Weekly

"The landscape of Ell Aye and the language of the Angelenos adds an interesting layer to this debut: the characters speak in slang, which makes it easy to get drawn into this dystopian future. Accessible for a wide range of teen readers." —Booklist

About the Author


Jeff Sweat has made a living from words his entire career, starting out as an award-winning tech journalist for InformationWeek magazine and moving into marketing. He led the content marketing team for Yahoo and pioneered its use of social media. He directed PR for two of the top advertising agencies in the country, Deutsch LA and 72andSunny. He now runs his own Los Angeles–based PR and marketing agency, Mister Sweat.

Jeff is the author of Mayfly.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250308894
ISBN-10: 1250308895
Publisher: Square Fish
Publication Date: August 13th, 2019
Pages: 384
Language: English
Series: Mayfly