facebook

The Last Days of the Midnight Ramblers: A Novel (Hardcover)

The Last Days of the Midnight Ramblers: A Novel By Sarah Tomlinson Cover Image
$28.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Apr 18 8:05pm
(FICTION)

Description


Perfect for fans of Daisy Jones & The Six and Almost Famous, a gripping debut about the complicated legacy of a legendary rock band and the ghostwriter telling their story

Three Rock & Roll icons. Two explosive tell-all memoirs. One ghostwriter caught in the middle.


Anke Berben is ready to tell all. A legendary model and style icon, she reveled in headline-grabbing romances with not one but three members of the hugely influential rock band the Midnight Ramblers. The band members were as famous for their backstage drama as for their music, and Anke is the only one who fully understands the tangled relationships, betrayals, and suspicions that have added to the Ramblers’ enduring appeal and mystique. That is most evident in the mystery around Anke’s role in the death of Mal, the band’s founder and Anke’s husband, in 1969.

When Mari Hawthorn accepts the job to work with Anke on her memoir, she is dead set on getting to the truth of Mal’s death. She has always been deft at navigating the fatal charms of celebrities, having grown up with a narcissistic, alcoholic father. As she ingratiates herself into the world of the band, she grows enchanted, against her better judgment, by these legendary rock stars. She knows she can’t get pulled in too deep, otherwise she’ll compromise her objectivity—and her integrity.

Filled with all of the glamour and attitude of rock and roll, The Last Days of the Midnight Ramblers is a bighearted page-turner that will appeal to fans of Daisy Jones & The Six and Almost Famous.

About the Author


Sarah Tomlinson, a former music journalist, has been a ghostwriter since 2008, penning more than 20 books, including five New York Times bestsellers. In 2015, she published the father-daughter memoir, Good Girl (Gallery Books). She wrote The Last Days of the Midnight Ramblers, her first novel, in-between assignments for a who’s who of celebrity clients.

Praise For…


Praise for Sarah Tomlinson’s The Last Days of the Midnight Ramblers

“An exploration of the many ways celebrities can wield their wealth and power, especially against each other.” —Booklist

The Last Days of the Midnight Ramblers is an irresistible foray into the private lives of the world's most famous rock icons, as observed by the woman hired to curate their secrets. Sarah Tomlinson writes with devastating insight and intimacy about what it takes—and what it takes from you—to be a ghost. I couldn’t look away from this story about art, ambition, power, and our ultimate human desire: to be known.” —Katie Gutierrez, bestselling author of More Than You'll Ever Know

“A racy, modern, fast-paced read that is equal parts murder mystery, psycho-study of ghost writers, and the extravagant lifestyles of rock’n’roll royalty. Tense, scary, and joyous all at once. California, booze, caffeine, drugs, murder, the desert, Vegas, and rock’n’roll. A fast-paced joy to read.” —John Doe, musician, actor, writer, and founding member of X

“A twisty, dazzling dive into the intoxication of fame and the hangover that follows. Sarah Tomlinson’s experience as a ghostwriter infuses her novel with emotional depth and juicy insider details. If you’ve ever wondered what it's really like to work with celebrities, Tomlinson’s smart, nuanced novel is for you.” —Nina Simon, author of the Reese Pick Mother-Daughter Murder Night

“A seductive tale of fame, power, and celebrity. Tomlinson casts a spell over the reader while asking fascinating questions about ways we exchange money for access, secrets, and sometimes even love.” —Jenny Jackson, New York Times bestselling author of Pineapple Street

The Last Days of the Midnight Ramblers is an observant, suspenseful novel about an ambitious ghostwriter and the celebrities she manipulates, coddles, and sometimes loves. Sarah Tomlinson writes with compassion and sizzle, using her own skills as a ghostwriter to lend earth and substance to larger-than-life characters.” —Steph Cha, author of Your House Will Pay

“Tomlinson’s punky noir about rock stars and the quiet women behind them had me turning pages late into the night. Whether ghostwriters or talented groupies, it's about the voices in the silence, the devastation that the entitled leave behind.” —Sarah Langan, author of Good Neighbors



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250890481
ISBN-10: 1250890489
Publisher: Flatiron Books
Publication Date: February 13th, 2024
Pages: 304
Language: English