The Resounding Soul (Veritas #16) (Paperback)

The Resounding Soul (Veritas #16) By Eric Austin Lee (Editor), Samuel Kimbriel (Editor) Cover Image
By Eric Austin Lee (Editor), Samuel Kimbriel (Editor)
Not in Stock. Available to Order.


It is surely not coincidental that the term "soul" should mean not only the center of a creature's life and consciousness, but also a thing or action characterized by intense vivacity ("that bike's got soul "). It also seems far from coincidental that the same contemporary academic discussions that have largely cast aside the language of "soul" in their quest to define the character of human mental life should themselves be so--how to say it?--bloodless, so lacking in soul. This volume arises from the opposite premise, namely that the task of understanding human nature is bound up with and in important respects dependent upon the more critical task of learning to be fully human, of learning to have soul. The papers collected here are derived from a conference in Oxford sponsored by the Centre of Theology and Philosophy and together explore the often surprising landscape that emerges when human consciousness is approached from this angle. Drawing upon literary, philosophical, theological, historical, and musical modes of analysis, the essays of this volume vividly remind the reader of the power of the ancient language of soul over against contemporary impulses to reduce, fragment, and overly determine human selfhood.

About the Author

Eric Austin Lee (PhD) is Research Fellow/Deputy Director, North America at the Centre of Theology and Philosophy, University of Nottingham, where he also received his PhD. He is coeditor of the Veritas and KALOS book series. Samuel Kimbriel (MPhil; PhD) is a Teaching Fellow in philosophical theology at the University of Nottingham. He is the author of Friendship as Sacred Knowing: Overcoming Isolation (2014).

Product Details
ISBN: 9781498232074
ISBN-10: 1498232078
Publisher: Cascade Books
Publication Date: November 10th, 2015
Pages: 424
Language: English
Series: Veritas