facebook

When Ghosts Call Us Home (Hardcover)

When Ghosts Call Us Home By Katya de Becerra Cover Image
$18.99
Not in Stock. Available to Order.

Description


Haunting of Hill House meets found-footage horror in this edge-of-your-seat thriller that explores the power of family ties and the trauma that lurks there.

When Sophia Galich was twelve, she starred in her older sister Layla’s amateur horror movie Vermillion, which recorded raw footage of her very real reactions to scenes her sister concocted in their old Californian house on the coast—Cashore House.

In the years after the film’s release, Sophia’s relationship with her sister became more strained, while her memories of the now-infamous house fueled her nightmares. Vermillion amassed an army of fanatical fans who speculated about the film’s hidden messages, and it was rumored that Layla made a pact with the devil—her soul in exchange for fame and arcane knowledge. Sophia dismissed this as gossip…until Layla disappeared.

Now, Sophia must study the trail of clues Layla has left behind, returning to the very place where it all began. As she gets closer and closer to Cashore House’s haunted heart, she must once again confront the ghosts of her childhood. But the house won’t reveal its secrets without a fight.

About the Author


Katya de Becerra was born in Russia, studied in California, lived in Peru, and then stayed in Australia long enough to become a local. She was going to be an Egyptologist when she grew up, but instead she earned a PhD in Anthropology. What The Woods Keep is her first novel.

Praise For…


"The artful weaving of ghostly horrors with the off-kilter creepiness of films and fandoms creates multiple layers of fear in this deeply unsettling page-turner [...] Haunting, intense, and eerily spooky."
Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"Haunting and unsettling [...] De Becerra's narrative is both dreamy and tight, creating a disorienting, nightmarish atmosphere."
Booklist, starred review

“An expertly calibrated pace builds tension, maximizing the moody atmosphere between the nightmarish encounters with the ghost to keep readers constantly on edge.”
BCCB

"A satisfying and imaginative haunted house story that uses its influences to great effect. Fans of books like Marisha Pessl’s Night Film and horror movies like The Ring will undoubtedly make themselves right at home in Cashore House."
BookPage

“Haunting and hypnotic, WHEN GHOSTS CALL US HOME gave me the goosebumps! Perfect for fans of NIGHT FILM and RULES FOR VANISHING, the mysteries of Cashore House will grab you by the throat and refuse to let go.”
—Erin A. Craig, NYT bestselling author of HOUSE OF SALT AND SORROWS

Combining cult horror, internet fandom, and a truly terrifying haunted house, de Becerra weaves an addictive tale of artistic creation and sisterhood, occult magic and impossible belief. You'll be drawn in page by page, until you're drowning in the book's deep mythologies.
—Melissa Albert, NYT bestselling author of The Hazel Wood series and OUR CROOKED HEARTS

"Katya de Becerra's WHEN GHOSTS CALL US HOME will linger in readers' minds just like the delightfully layered mythology surrounding Cashore House lingers in our heroine's nightmares. Becerra's rich storytelling forces you to do a double take, wondering whether you imagined what Sophia endures, the intricate fan theories that may or may not be offering clues, and what she'll face next in the search for her older sister."
Amparo Ortiz, author of LAST SUNRISE IN ETERNA

“Fans of the Haunting of Hill House will want to plan a trip to Cashore today. The pages almost turn themselves in this one. Come for the chills, stay for de Becerra’s gorgeous prose.”
—Kelly deVos, author of EAT YOUR HEART OUT and GO HUNT ME

"When Ghosts Call Us Home feels like Crimson Peak for the internet era, dreamy and familiar until you put a foot wrong and fall."
—Alison Ames, author of TO BREAK A COVENANT and IT LOOKS LIKE US

"An utterly atmospheric, original masterpiece. De Becerra will have you on the edge of your seat with this addicting tale.”
- Candace Robinson, author of the bestselling Faeries of Oz Series

"Eerie, atmospheric and truly compelling. Enter Cashore House—if you dare..."
—Kristina Pérez, author of the Sweet Black Waves trilogy

"When Ghosts Call Us Home delivers unsettling chills, inexorable twists, and tender romance, counterbalanced with a beautifully written narrative driven by sisterly love."
—Rachael Craw, award-winning author of the Spark trilogy and THE RIFT

"Equal parts chilling and clever, this Gothic page-turner will haunt you long after you've finished wandering the shadowed halls of the mysterious Cashore House."
—Sarah Glenn Marsh, author of THE GIRLS ARE NEVER GONE



Product Details
ISBN: 9781645679639
ISBN-10: 1645679632
Publisher: Page Street YA
Publication Date: October 3rd, 2023
Pages: 368
Language: English