facebook

16 & Pregnant: A Novel (Hardcover)

16 & Pregnant: A Novel By LaLa Thomas Cover Image
$19.99
Not in Stock. Available to Order.

Description


The bond between two best friends is put to the test when one of them gets pregnant in this “powerful and timely” (award-winning author Angela Johnson) contemporary young adult novel for fans of Angie Thomas and Elizabeth Acevedo.

Erykah was looking forward to junior year at East Prep High. She has a cute boyfriend, gets good grades, and has the best bestie. Money is tight, though that’s nothing new in her world. But everything changes when she gets pregnant. Having a baby at sixteen was definitely not part of the plan.

Kelly’s plan was to dominate junior year—grade-wise and on the basketball court—and eventually get an athletic scholarship. It did not include helping her best friend through a pregnancy. But that’s what best friends do, right? Besides, Kelly has every intention of being a good auntie.

As the two girls navigate the pregnancy, they’ll learn some harsh realities about the world and be forced to make some huge decisions. They’ll also discover a deep reserve of strength and compassion…for each other and themselves.

About the Author


LaLa Thomas is a professor, scholar, combat Army veteran, English teacher, and an author of multiple genres. After her first years of teaching and mentoring in one of the most struggling school districts in the nation, she decided to use those experiences to create stories through characters who represent young Black voices. LaLa calls two places home: the fabulous Las Vegas, Nevada, and Harlem, New York. She is a proud Afro-Caribbean American, who is thankful for all the gifts her ancestors have given her. LaLa and her divine daughter, Aazariah Dior (a.k.a. “Z”), currently live in downtown San Francisco.

Praise For…


Far from being a judgmental cautionary tale, the work treats Erykah’s circumstances with care, offering a true representation of the right to choose, despite the odds. An empowering, relatable read.
Kirkus Review

Believably peppered with facts about Black maternal healthcare, this thought-provoking debut inspired by the reality TV show of the same name is an authentic exploration of the right to choose.
Publishers Weekly
*STARRED REVIEW*


Product Details
ISBN: 9781665917278
ISBN-10: 166591727X
Publisher: MTV Books
Publication Date: January 3rd, 2023
Pages: 320
Language: English