OPEN
EVERY DAY

10AM
-
10PM

(323)
660-1175

1818
NORTH
VERMONT
AVE

LOS ANGELES
90027

 

SARA SAEDI discusses her young adult memoir AMERICANIZED with TALIA GONZALEZ

Americanized: A Rebel without a Green Card (Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers)

Perfect for fans of Mindy Kaling and Lena Dunham’s books, Americanized: A Rebel without a Green Card is the true story of one teen’s experience growing up in America as an undocumented immigrant from the Middle East.

With President Trump’s recent order to rescind the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA), some 800,000 young people are facing possible deportation from their childhood homes in the United States. This book captures the anxiety, confusion, and anger of suddenly coming to realize that life as you know it could be compromised at any moment.

In Americanized, bright-eyed, straight-A student Sara Saedi uncovered a terrible secret at age thirteen: she was breaking the law simply by living in the United States. Only two years old when her parents fled Iran, she didn’t learn of her undocumented status until her older sister wanted to apply for an after-school job, but couldn’t because she didn’t have a Social Security number.

Fear of deportation kept Sara up at night, but it didn’t keep her from being a teenager. She desperately wanted a green card, along with clear skin, her own car, and a boyfriend. Americanized follows Sara’s progress toward getting her green card, but that’s only a portion of her experiences as an Iranian-“American” teenager. From discovering that her parents secretly divorced to facilitate her mother’s green card application to learning how to tame her unibrow, Sara pivots gracefully from the terrifying prospect that she might be kicked out of the country at any time to the almost-as- terrifying possibility that she might be the only one of her friends without a date to the prom.

Americanized combines the timely topic of immigration with a poignant and engaging voice that young readers won’t be able to put down!

Sara Saedi (@saaaranotsarah) was born in Tehran, Iran, smack-dab in the middle of a war and an Islamic Revolution. She received a BA in film and mass communications from the University of California, Berkeley and began her career as a creative executive for ABC Daytime. Since then she's penned three TV movies for ABC Family and a pilot for the Disney Channel, won a Daytime Emmy for What If . . . , a web series she wrote for ABC, and worked as a staff writer on the FOX sitcom The Goodwin Games. Her first novel for young adults, Never Ever, was published by Viking in June.

Photo by Denise Crew

Talia Gonzalez originally hails from Boston, but moved to NYC to attend New York University’s Tisch School of the Arts, where she studied acting. She spent many
years as a voiceover actor, lending her voice to national commercials, educational audio, animation and more. She also started her own company, Sweet Spot Voiceover Coaching, to help train and mentor emerging talent. Currently, Talia has turned her attention to writing for television, and along with her longtime collaborator and partner, Bisanne Masoud, they have been staffed on MTV’s Teen Wolf, as well as just completing the third season of iZombie for the CW.

Event date: 
Tuesday, February 6, 2018 - 7:30pm
Event address: 
1818 N Vermont Ave
Los Angeles, CA 90027
Americanized: Rebel Without a Green Card Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781524717797
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - February 6th, 2018