facebook

AT SKYLIGHT: ANNA CAREY presents THIS IS NOT THE REAL WORLD with TAHEREH MAFI

Preorder your SIGNED COPY of This is Not the Real World here!

This is Not the Real World (Quirk Books)

Nineties nostalgia takes a dark turn in this thrilling sequel to This Is Not the Jess Show, perfect for readers of We Were Liars and One of Us Is Lying.

Months after Jess escaped from the set of Stuck in the ’90s, the nostalgic reality show she believed was her real life, the teen star is getting to know the outside world for the first time. But she can’t outrun her fictional life forever—or the media empire that owns it.

After Like-Life Productions tracks her down and forces her boyfriend to return to the show, Jess teams up with an underground network fighting to uncover Like-Life’s schemes. To expose the truth, Jess must go back to the set and take Like-Life down from the inside . . . but getting revenge might just cost her everything.

Anna Carey is the author of several books for teens including This is Not The Jess ShowThis is Not the Real World, and the Eve trilogy. She lives in Los Angeles.

Tahereh Mafi is the National Book Award nominated and New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of An Emotion of Great Delight, the Shatter Me series, A Very Large Expanse of SeaWhichwood, and Furthermore. You can find her on Instagram at @tahereh or on her website, www.taherehmafi.com.

Praise for This Is Not the Jess Show -

“It’s a dark and distorted mirror of our own extremely strange times, perfect reading for anyone who wants to feel seen without necessarily needing to be looked at.”—Shondaland

“I read this in a single, compulsive sitting. A fantastically smart, funny, and thoughtful thriller about how our devices manipulate and exploit our closest relationships.”—Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything and The Sun Is Also a Star 

“At once thought-provoking and hilarious, This Is Not the Jess Show is a timely, incisive book so masterfully-plotted you won't want to put it down.”—Tahereh Mafi, New York Times Bestselling author of the Shatter Me series and A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
“Nostalgic, romantic, thrilling, and with an exciting twist, I devoured This Is Not The Jess Show and didn't want it to end!”—Sara Shepard, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Pretty Little Liars and The Lying Game  

“A thrilling and thought-provoking ride.”—Kirkus Reviews
 
This is Not the Jess Show goes deep in exploring how people live their lives and create their own realities—sometimes at a cost.”—Foreword Reviews

“The fast-paced, intricate plot ramps up Jess's paranoia and frustration, both of which are vividly expressed through her first-person narrative.”—Booklist

“A fun and thoughtful thriller; this YA novel will please fans of E. Lockhart and Kiera Cass.”—School Library Journal

“Fast paced and thrilling.”—Bulletin for the Center of Children's Books

Event date: 
Wednesday, May 25, 2022 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
1818 N Vermont Ave
Los Angeles, CA 90027
This Is Not the Real World (This is Not the Jess Show #2) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781683692812
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quirk Books - May 24th, 2022

This Is Not the Jess Show Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781683692652
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quirk Books - February 1st, 2022

This Woven Kingdom Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780062972446
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - February 1st, 2022