facebook

At Skylight: Sarah Tomlinson presents THE LAST DAYS OF THE MIDNIGHT RAMBLERS w/ Samantha Dockser

At Skylight: Sarah Tomlinson presents THE LAST DAYS OF THE MIDNIGHT RAMBLERS w/ Samantha Dockser

Join us for a novel perfect for fans of Daisy Jones & The Six and Almost Famous, a gripping debut about the complicated legacy of a legendary rock band and the ghostwriter telling their story.

Three Rock & Roll icons. Two explosive tell-all memoirs. One ghostwriter caught in the middle.

Anke Berben is ready to tell all. A legendary model and style icon, she reveled in headline-grabbing romances with not one but three members of the hugely influential rock band the Midnight Ramblers. The band members were as famous for their backstage drama as for their music, and Anke is the only one who fully understands the tangled relationships, betrayals, and suspicions that have added to the Ramblers’ enduring appeal and mystique. That is most evident in the mystery around Anke’s role in the death of Mal, the band’s founder and Anke’s husband, in 1969.

When Mari Hawthorn accepts the job to work with Anke on her memoir, she is dead set on getting to the truth of Mal’s death. She has always been deft at navigating the fatal charms of celebrities, having grown up with a narcissistic, alcoholic father. As she ingratiates herself into the world of the band, she grows enchanted, against her better judgment, by these legendary rock stars. She knows she can’t get pulled in too deep, otherwise she’ll compromise her objectivity—and her integrity.

Filled with all of the glamour and attitude of rock and roll, The Last Days of the Midnight Ramblers is a bighearted page-turner that will appeal to fans of Daisy Jones & The Six and Almost Famous.

Sarah Tomlinson, a former music journalist, has been a ghostwriter since 2008, penning more than 20 books, including five New York Times bestsellers. In 2015, she published the father-daughter memoir, Good Girl (Gallery Books). She wrote The Last Days of the Midnight Ramblers, her first novel, in-between assignments for a who’s who of celebrity clients.

Samantha Dockser is an actor and content creator known for her work on HBOMax’s THE SEX LIVES OF COLLEGE GIRLS and Netflix’s AS THE CROW FLIES. On TikTok, her 250k followers enjoy her comedic, upbeat videos. She also writes a substack newsletter, The Lately, where she shares her thoughts on what she’s reading, watching, and generally just enjoying lately. In her free time, you can find her hosting book club, playing pickleball, or binging the latest season of Love Island UK. 

Event date: 
Tuesday, February 13, 2024 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
1818 N Vermont Ave
Los Angeles, CA 90027
The Last Days of the Midnight Ramblers: A Novel By Sarah Tomlinson Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781250890481
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - February 13th, 2024

Good Girl: A Memoir By Sarah Tomlinson Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781476748979
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gallery Books - December 15th, 2015