facebook

Maddie

Book Recommendations: 
Staff Pick Badge
The Woman in the Purple Skirt: A Novel Cover Image
By Natsuko Imamura, Lucy North (Translated by)
$23.00
ISBN: 9780143136026
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - June 8th, 2021

A woman in a purple skirt goes about her day...and all the while, another woman in a yellow cardigan is observing her, evaluating her, trying to decide how her small life could be improved. For anyone who's yearned for someone they were too scared to talk to: this weird, thrilling little novel gets it.


Staff Pick Badge
Temple Alley Summer Cover Image
By Sachiko Kashiwaba, Avery Fischer Udagawa (Translator), Miho Satake (Illustrator)
$18.00
ISBN: 9781632063038
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Yonder - July 6th, 2021

What do you do when you suspect your new best friend is actually a ghost? This lovely illustrated mystery is perfect for fans of Studio Ghibli - spooky & strange enough to thrill young readers, and sweet enough to capture just about anyone's heart.


Staff Pick Badge
The Legend of Auntie Po Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780525554899
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Kokila - June 15th, 2021

Shing Yin Khor's delightful graphic novel makes old tall tales new again and shows us the American frontier as it really was - lively, multicultural, and fiercely independent. While our hero Mei spends her days baking pies and dreaming of giant blue water buffaloes, the harsh realities of racism and xenophobia are never far away. But Mei's fantastic stories have a secret power. Maybe, if Mei tells them well enough, she can create a place where everyone is welcome to settle in and listen.


Staff Pick Badge
Cyclopedia Exotica Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781770464377
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Drawn and Quarterly - May 11th, 2021

Fans of Woman World rejoice! Aminder Dhaliwal is back with this sharp-eyed, compassionate meditation on the many ways the world measures and punishes difference. Dhaliwal's super-expressive cyclopean avatars devise creative strategies of humor, care and resistance that can help us all feel whole again.


Staff Pick Badge
Bezoar: And Other Unsettling Stories Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781609809584
Availability: Not in stock. Available To Order.
Published: Seven Stories Press - August 18th, 2020

Shimmering strange stories that stick in your throat. Is there anything more surreal than living in a body?


Staff Pick Badge
Heaven No Hell Cover Image
$21.95
ISBN: 9781770464353
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Drawn and Quarterly - March 23rd, 2021

No one is doing it like DeForge.


Staff Pick Badge
Justine Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781951142339
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tin House Books - March 2nd, 2021

A delicately illustrated coming of age tale set in late-90s Long Island, Justine follows its young protagonist as she becomes romantically & platonically obsessed with an impossibly cool grocery store checkout girl. This book nails the tension of its central teenage friendship and the spiralling intensity of Justine's attraction.


Staff Pick Badge
The Hole: A Novel Cover Image
By Hye-young Pyun, Sora Kim-Russell (Translated by)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781628729917
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Arcade - October 23rd, 2018

Harrowing body horror shot through with glints of blackest humor. For fans of Parasite and Shirley Jackson. Gaze into the hole, but don't jump in...


Staff Pick Badge
The Age of Skin Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781948830225
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Open Letter - November 17th, 2020

Merciless critiques of nationalism, pop culture and the literary scene from a true original.


Staff Pick Badge
I'm So Fine: A List of Famous Men & What I Had on Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781936919468
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Yesyes Books - March 15th, 2017

These transfixing, hilarious prose poems give the whole read on beauty, what it means to carry it, and how to claim it for yourself instead of giving it away.


Staff Pick Badge
Breasts and Eggs Cover Image
By Mieko Kawakami, Sam Bett (Translator), David Boyd (Translator)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781609456702
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Europa Editions - March 23rd, 2021

A sprawling, deliciously messy treatise on feminity, natural and constructed, and the tenuous bonds between women: mothers, daughters, sisters, comrades. 


Staff Pick Badge
Pizza Girl: A Novel Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9780385545723
Availability: Not in stock. Available To Order.
Published: Doubleday - June 9th, 2020

A perfect novel of aimless youth in Los Angeles. Pizza Girl will drive you nuts but you'll never stop rooting for her to find her way. She's impossible not to love. 


Staff Pick Badge
That Time of Year Cover Image
By Marie Ndiaye, Jordan Stump (Translator)
$19.95
ISBN: 9781931883917
Availability: Not in stock. Available To Order.
Published: Two Lines Press - September 8th, 2020

Elegant vacation horror: what you deserve for staying on after the season ends...


Staff Pick Badge
Guantanamo Voices: True Accounts from the World’s Most Infamous Prison Cover Image
By Sarah Mirk, Various (Illustrator), Omar El Akkad (Introduction by)
$24.99
ISBN: 9781419746901
Availability: Not in stock. Available To Order.
Published: Abrams ComicArts - September 8th, 2020

Mirk and contributors use the medium of comics to create arresting, visually stunning arguments against the long-ignored abuses of America's secret prison, and share the stories of the detainees who are still fighting for their freedom. 


Staff Pick Badge
The Unreality of Memory: And Other Essays Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780374538347
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: FSG Originals - August 11th, 2020

When I'm looking to understand some aspect of our horrible reality I often turn to the writing of Elisa Gabbert, a fabulous poet and one of our best contemporary cultural critics. Gabbert's writings on disease, disaster and the madness of crowds illuminate the ways the irrational still shapes our so-called rational institutions and rules our individual lives.


Staff Pick Badge
Fiebre Tropical Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781936932757
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Amethyst Editions - March 4th, 2020

A stunning bilingual debut novel, Fiebre Tropical crackles with the electricity of living language, and characters who grab you by the hair and won't let go. 


Staff Pick Badge
Tentacle Cover Image
By Rita Indiana, Achy Obejas (Translator)
$13.95
ISBN: 9781911508342
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: And Other Stories - January 15th, 2019

Tentacle is a strange and gorgeous beast. Tthis book is constantly shifting: protagonists, alliances, genders, sexualities, countries, time periods, histories, realities. Go with the flow and you'll wind up places you've never seen before. 


On a Sunbeam Cover Image
$21.99
ISBN: 9781250178138
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - October 2nd, 2018

In the Distance Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781566894883
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Coffee House Press - October 10th, 2017

The Milk of Dreams Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781681370941
Availability: Backordered
Published: NYR Children's Collection - May 16th, 2017

We Were Witches Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9781558614338
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Amethyst Editions - September 5th, 2017

The New Me Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780143133605
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - March 5th, 2019

Solaris Cover Image
By Stanislaw Lem, Joanna Kilmartin (Translated by), Steve Cox (Translated by)
$14.99
ISBN: 9780156027601
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Mariner Books - November 20th, 2002

Mostly Dead Things Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781947793835
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tin House Books - April 21st, 2020

The Book of X Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781937512811
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Two Dollar Radio - July 16th, 2019

Staff Pick Badge
Socialist Realism (Emily Books) Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781566895514
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Coffee House Press - August 13th, 2019

Song for the Unraveling of the World Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781566895484
Availability: Not in stock. Available To Order.
Published: Coffee House Press - June 11th, 2019

In a Lonely Place Cover Image
By Dorothy B. Hughes, Megan Abbott (Afterword by)
$14.95
ISBN: 9781681371474
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: NYRB Classics - August 15th, 2017

Staff Pick Badge
Another Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534421677
Availability: Not in stock. Available To Order.
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - March 5th, 2019

In the Dream House: A Memoir Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781644450383
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - December 1st, 2020

D'Aulaires Book of Greek Myths Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780440406945
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Delacorte Press - March 1st, 1992

Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead: A Novel Cover Image
By Olga Tokarczuk, Antonia Lloyd-Jones (Translated by)
$27.00
ISBN: 9780525541332
Availability: Not in stock. Available To Order.
Published: Riverhead Books - August 13th, 2019

Real Life Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780525538899
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - February 16th, 2021